Sunday…peaceful Sunday

Low 40’s, windy, gray again.  Let the girls out at 7:30 am & they are busy scratching and eating at the moment.  It’s been a little over 5 months since we lost Sophia to the coyote and my heart still aches for her.  She was a deep burgundy reddish color, just so sweet.  I’ve been protective of them since – yes, I know they’re only chickens.  But, they are mine and I love them.  All with such different personalities; Abby, Hannah, Juliet, Karla, Greta, Sass, Isabella, Molly, Maggie.  I thought I would never be able to tell them apart and be able to figure out who was who but after spending time with them, I do know all of them and their quirks and temperament. 

Found a flock of about 50 Canadian Geese on the pond this morning – a stop over on their long journey south.  They didn’t stay long but Mom got a chance to see them which was nice.  The cherry chest looks beautiful in the living room – I have the Christmas cactus, African Violet, Jade plant, and another houseplant on top of it along with a Simon Pearce “Chelsea Optic” vase and Grandmother’s cut glass vase.  Need to repot most of the plants and will try to get to that this week.

Our new beds / mattresses will arrive this week.  I bought a Simmons Comforpedic foam king sized mattress and a new frame.  We started out with an old mattress / spring frame set up then went to a water bed.  After that, we had a pillow topped mattress, and them our most recent firm Simmons Expedition mattress which we’ve hated since we purchased it.  Always queen sized but now moving up to a king and can’t wait!  The only problem is that I have no idea how they’re going to get it upstairs!

It’s almost 10:30 am so I better get breakfast for Mom and I.  I think a ham and cheese omelet will be nice.  Not sure what else the day will bring…have to go to the store and pay some bills – and always laundry.  Maybe will visit later?  We’ll see what unfolds.

Leave a comment